Appetite for knowledge:

While the first few days, weeks or months on the job can be a little scary and stressful, take a deep breath and repeat to yourself: “Worrying does not empty tomorrow of its troubles, it empties today of its strength.” Be strong and confident and open to new learning experiences.

In PR, as with any profession, you should constantly be continuing your education and staying up to date with new happenings and developments in the field. How can you expect to move forward if you go through your career with ONLY the knowledge you gained from some outdated text books in college?

I am in my second week on the job as an intern at BERKMAN PR and have already learned so much but have a LONG way to go and am excited for the journey!

Follow these tips from my first week as you adjust to life in the fast lane.

Turn your radars on!

During my first week of work I was eager to adjust to the life of a PR professional, having previously worked in the non-profit world for a small performing arts organization. I immediately took note of how my more experienced PR colleagues wrote, created, interacted and accomplished their daily duties.  Remember they have been with the company for longer than you and know the goals, plans and keys to success having learned from their mistakes some time ago when they were in your shoes. Make their best skills yours by evolving into the best PR professional you can be through observation and application.

Get your book worm on

Read, Read, Read!

So, I must admit to “geeking” out a little bit my first week of work. As I was browsing through online PR publications on a slow day, I stumbled upon Platform magazine and their handy little AP style and PR vocab quizzes. I became addicted with testing my AP style skills and PR knowledge. Pretty fun and informative at the same time! I am looking forward to subscribing to PR Week or Platform magazine and curling up on the couch with a glass of wine and issue in hand after work to stay up to date with the PR world.

Whether on your iPad, Kindle or a good old-fashioned magazine, continue to educate yourself on the current happenings in the field. Through trade journals and other materials written specifically for your industry, you can scope out what other people in similar jobs are doing to be successful. It will come in handy as you navigate this new terrain and will ensure a stronger confidence in your work as you grow and mature in the field.

Be a good member of society

The Public Relations Society of America that is. Started in 1947, the PRSA is the world’s largest organization of public relations professionals with over 21,000 members. PRSA provides professional development, sets standards of excellence and acts as one of the industry’s leading voices on the important business and professional issues of our time. There is even a PR society designed specifically for students with more than 10,000 members. The Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) is a great resource for the budding PR student.

For more information visit www.prsa.org  or www.prssa.org

Don’t sweat the small stuff

During my first week on the job here at BERKMAN, I was extremely excited, but as with any new job, also extremely nervous! I wanted to make a fantastic first impression and add value to the company atmosphere right from the start. Needless to say, nerves certainly got the best of me in some not-so-intellectual-and-embarrassing situations. From dealing with phone issues like accidentally hanging up on a client, or not knowing how to make coffee (Hard to believe huh? I’m an avid soda drinker and don’t even own a coffee pot, so it was completely foreign to me!)I have kept a smile on through all of it, reminding myself that it takes time to adjust. As we’ve said before, attitude is everything and nerves are completely normal. Have fun and learn from your mistakes!

Be nosy

In a good way. Curiosity may have killed the cat, but not the entry level PR professional. My first few days on the job, I spent any downtime I had researching the clients and browsing the past materials created for clients to get a feel for how things are done and how I could fit into the team and add value to the company. Ask questions. There is no dumb question. By being curious, you will not only help familiarize yourself with the company but will also demonstrate to employers that you are genuinely interested in the business and all of the ins-and-outs of the organization.

How have you continued your PR education?

